Toxic Storm

Posted: 03/03/2013 in Review/Preview
Tags: , , , , , ,

20130303-174951.jpg

When I first met Adam Cheal he introduced me to his horror comic creation “Zyklon B” (see previous post) I enjoyed the book a LOT, even own some of the original art. My signed copy is about to take its rightful place on wall. Now Adam has repackaged and renamed his creation, he is preparing to release “Toxic Storm” on the world.

“We are pleased to officially announce that the Toxic Storm Graphic Novel is going to be released by UK publishing giant Markosia Enterprises Ltd. The book will be released monthly as a four part digital miniseries via Comixology, iverse/comics +, iBooks, Kindle, Kobo, Nook, Sony, and DriveThru Comics with the trade paperback novel to follow shortly after. More information regarding the release dates will be posted on the website as they become available.

www.toxicstorm.com.

Synopsis

Simon Fisher is unjustly convicted and sent to the gas chamber at San Quentin prison. Using occult power, he transforms into deadly toxic gas to escape his fate. Simon embarks on a quest of revenge on those responsible for his condition. Special FBI Agent “Jack Storm” enlists the help of Simon’s former cell mate and mentor “Caleb Fontana” to track him down. Caleb has a hidden agenda and betrays Jack Storm resulting in his death. Through the power of a gemstone obtained from an ancient demon, Jack Storms body is reanimated into a terrifying and deadly alter ego. Roles are reversed as he’s the one seeking vengeance and will stop at nothing to get it. This is a tale of revenge and redemption for good and evil, in a true 80’s B-Movie video nasty style.”

CREATIVE TEAM

  • Adam B. Cheal (Writer/creator)
  • Alberto “Renzo” Rodriguez (Artist)
  • Mike Summers (Colorist)
  • Mindy Lopkin (Letterer)
  • Jimmy Kerast (Cover Colors)

On reading “Toxic Storm #1” I have completely been drawn back into this story. Adam has crafted a horror story, however not in the traditional sense. The characters are believable, and you can completely relate to the emotions and feelings portrayed by the people who are the focus of the story. Adams passion for horror and hero comics shines through on every single panel.

Adam has picked an amazing team to work on his creation, Alberto “Renzo” Rodriguez has taken up quite the task reworking a pre-established comic. “Renzo” has created (and also on some pages reworked some of the previous pages) brilliantly. His art works perfectly with the rest of the team, his style has a dark undertone that works well with the gritty, gruesome prison scenes, and the horrific revenge attacks. Colours from Mike Summers fit the art very well, and Mindys letters just round off the book brilliantly.

Recently I have been speaking to Adam about the recent news that he has now signed a publishing deal with british comics publisher “Markosia”

Markosia was established in 2005 and has become one of the UK’s leading publishers of graphic novels. Based in London, it has gained a reputation for producing a diverse range of comic books and graphic novels that cover almost all genres, with the highest possible production values.

Some of the creators that have worked on Markosia titles include ‘Midnight Kiss’ artist Ryan Stegman (Superior Spider-Man), ‘Starship Troopers’ artist Neil Edwards (Fantastic Four), ‘Of Bitter Souls’ artist Norm Breyfogle (Batman), ‘Dark Mists’ artist Lee Garbett (Batman), ‘Scatterbrain’ artist Szymon Kudranski (30 Days of Night) and many more.

Their varied range continues to impress as the company goes from strength to strength. 2013 promises to be the most exciting year to date for this dynamic company as they embark on a range of thrilling new ventures designed to take them to even greater heights as they strive to take their stories to the masses.

May 4th 2013 will be Markosia’s debut foray into the Free Comic Book Day arena as they showcase a number of exciting titles that will be launched this summer. These include the all ages adventure ‘Endangered Weapon B’, retro sci-fi adventure ‘Project Luna: 1947’, super hero satire ‘Hero: 9 to 5 – Quietus’, supernatural war story ‘Heart of War’ and more supernatural adventures in the long-awaited ‘The Case Files of Harlan Falk’, five years in the making!

These are just five of the exciting new range of titles coming in 2013, with many more in production for the future.”

I have been lucky enough to get a few questions with the man behind the graphic novel series we are all going to want to be part of our collections upon release Mr. Adam Cheal.

Adam, first, I want to say thank you for the opportunity to review your book again. You clearly have a passion for the horror genre, with an anti-hero twist of course. Where did you find the inspiration for this graphic novel series?

We find inspiration in our daily lives, the situations that arise and people that influence and inspire us. As you said, I love horror and always have since I was a kid. I grew up in the house of horrors, figuratively speaking of course. Every one growing up as a kid had one of those houses where you would all pile round and watch horror films. That was my house. We watched Hellraiser, Nightmare on Elm Street, Friday the 13th, Halloween and many other classics. My parents were Clive Barker and Wes Craven. My love of 80’s horror and video nasties is what inspires me most. Horror always takes me back to my happy place.

Where did you find the team you chose to work with on your creation?

When you first get into comic book creating, the path is never as straight forward as just putting a team together and off you go. I made a ton of mistakes and lost quite a bit of time and money before hooking up with a team that had the talent and passion for the book to do it justice. I now only work with people that I have either worked with in the past or come recommended by people I know and trust.

I know from our many chats you are a fan of comics and graphic novels. What made you choose this style of writing over writing traditional literature?

As I said earlier, when I was younger, my main passion was films. I never really read many comics as a kid other than the odd Judge Dredd book. It wasn’t until my twenties that I really discovered the first book that blew me away. A friend put a copy of “Watchmen” in my hand and I was hooked from then on. I read mostly Alan Moore books from then and he showed me the power that sequential art can have. I was always interested in creative writing but made the leap into comics as I feel it’s the perfect bridge between the traditional written word and films.

What stuff do you read now?

I read quite a few now and my taste is still for horror and the dark, the darker, the better. I love Raven Gregory’s take on Alice in Wonderland and read loads of Zenescope books. The independent scene is putting out some incredible books and without the constraints of being publisher friendly, they can show and say what they want, nipples and all!

The publishing company you signed with (Markosia) is a great thing for our UK comic scene, and maybe developing that a bit more. Was it an easy choice to make the decision to sign with Markosia?

Signing with Markosia is a no brainer for me. Anyone that knows me, knows that I am trying very hard to promote the UK comic book scene. That’s one of the things we are trying to do with our British Showcase Anthology coming out later this year. Markosia have been at the forefront of the UK comic book scene for years and have big plans for the future. I am very proud to be a part of that and excited for the future.

I am so pleased that “Toxic Storm” is going to make its way on to the world stage, how does it feel to see something you have worked on for so long to make a move into the big leagues that is the current comic scene?

It’s a dream come true. It’s been a long road and at times you have to question your commitment and wonder if you are on the right path. The whole team involved have worked so hard and it’s great that the hard work has all been worth it. I think that the first time I walk into a comic book store and see a copy of the book on the shelf, will be a magical moment I will remember for all time.

You have always been a huge promoter of the independent comic movement, tell us all about your work on the “British showcase anthology”?

How the book came about is quite something. During the course of getting into making comics, I found that the UK had such a wealth of talent but not much buzz (compared to the USA). One of the things I started doing was writing a weekly column for Comicbooked.com called “British Showcase”. I had met so many hard workers, great artists and other creators that I wanted to help them gain some exposure. The articles went down really well, so I thought, “Hey, why don’t we all pool our resources and make a comic together that showcases our talents over here?” I sent out an email to a bunch of people I knew and respected and the response was mind blowing. Harry Markos from Markosia loved the idea and is working hard to make it something special. The book is a collection of twenty original and unique stories from forty UK creators and its going to rock! The book will launch in October this year.

Although this post is about “Toxic Storm” I know your next project is underway, which I’m very interested in myself, what can we look forward to with that?

I am already working on a new book with artist Russ Leach. It is
called “Terminus at Fenton’s Green”. It’s a Lovecraftian style tale
set in Victorian London with Demon’s, top hats and steam trains. The
idea for this one has been kicking around in my head for a couple of
years after a particularly disturbing nightmare resonated with me for
weeks afterwards. Russ is a great artist and has the perfect
sequential story telling skills to make this something special. Mike
Summers (Toxic) will be working closely with us to give this book a
unique and haunting look. Although this book is a horror, I wanted it
to be something more that that, so its also a mystery. Both visual and
written clues are embedded in the story for the reader to discover.
Once you know the twist ending, the clues are all pretty obvious and
it will make repeat reading allot of fun to see if you can find them
all.

Once again, I want to thank you for the chance to review you work again, and for taking the time to answer my long-winded questions. This is my first ever interview let me know how I have done, ha-ha! Best of luck Adam, you have my full support!

“Thanks J, my pleasure.”

I hope you all take the time to go and contact Adam via his twitter @adamcheal, on the Toxic storm twitter account @toxicstormcomic, also via on at www.toxicstorm.com. I urge everyone to make note of this comic book title, because it’s going to be huge.

Please let me know your thoughts, comments and even if you just want to chat to me @jaybwebb on twitter

20130303-175041.jpg

Leave a Reply

