Complex

Posted: 14/08/2012 in Review/Preview
Tags: , ,

20120814-091955.jpg

Well I don’t know where to start with this one. Complex is a comic that has never been brought to my attention before, however I noticed the free preview available on comixology and was intrigued. I downloaded it, but never got round to reading it. That is until I was noticed that the creator/writer Michael Malkin put out a tweet about his creation. We exchanged emails and he sent me issue 1 and 2 to read, so I’m writing this with the advantage of being ahead of the times. I also want to be very brief with my explanation of the story, because I really want to encourage everyone to take the time to read this comic. It’s truly is a great story, with brilliant writing, and amazing art.

The story take place in a small place, called “Towne”. We are introduced to a few characters, and all seems to be very normal…at first. We slowly begin to learn that all is not as it seems, and that some of the residents are being held against their will, only they don’t know it. This opens you up to a huge research operation taking place with director Jason Sinclair a the helm. We begin to discover that other than the people being held, most of the people in “Towne” are part of the conspiracy. We begin to see that not only are people being drugged to keep them docile, and to make sure they never remember the truth, they are being forced into believing the lies they are being told about their life’s. Only with the discovery of his “Wife” trying to drug him, does one of the main characters Zach begin to piece together his life, and filling in the blanks that cloud his memory. Then he begins to plan his escape.

Michael Malkin has created a brilliantly complexed story, that at times you may find hard to follow, but honestly once you finish this huge 59 page first issue, things will make sense. On reading this issue I felt I had a lot to process. When I got to the end of the issue however, I realised that actually a lot of info has been withheld from the story and actually it’s just my mind trying to fill in the gaps that makes it feel like there is a lot in this book. it’s a brilliantly written comic that makes you think a lot, but doesn’t actually give you a lot to think about, it just creates that illusion, which makes it such an amazing first outing for this series.

The artist is simply known as Kay, someone that I don’t know a lot about. However this is a brilliant collaboration, and the art is so amazingly dark and eerie that it only adds to the brilliant writing. It’s all black and white, but you really get a sense of the place your transported to, and really shows the docile drugged feeling the characters are suffering at the hands of the research group.

To sum up, this book truly is a perfect combination between both artist and writer, that gives you a lot to process, but not really. It’s just a brilliantly original story, or at least To me it is, that takes you on a journey through a dark and creepy inner workings of an organisation, and just what they might be capable of. I am so glad I got the chance to read before it passed me by completely. Michael I thank you for sending me your creation and I hope my words can help to generate interest for this comic. You will honestly regret not picking up this book.

You can pick up issue 1 on comixology now, and even if your not sure you can download the free preview.

You can get more info on this comic by visiting the Alterna comics and also visiting the Complex

Please leave your comments below and also feel free to contact me on my Twitter

Jason

Comments

Leave a Reply

