Hawkeye #1

Posted: 04/08/2012 in Review/Preview
Tags: , , ,

Hawkeye begins with a huge single page action shot of our hero, which is one of the first and only times we see Clint Barton as Hawkeye. This is a very good thing as it takes you through the story through the eyes of the alter ego of the avenger, showing the non-superhero side of Clint. Matt Fractions writing brings a whole new light to the marvel superhero genre. I have the same problem with a lot of the other Avenger’s books, they all seem to blend together and the writers could all change round and no one would notice. However this new take on Hawkeye is refreshing and I know a lot of people have been surprised by the quality of this story.

 Image

The art by David Aja is on another level, and really gives a complete feel to this issue. It has a very different feel to other marvel books, as it’s not so much of the crisp lines. It has thick black lines, and has a really easy style to it, which makes the whole issue very good to look at.

The comic is a real difference to anything really marvel has put out for a while, which brings a real aspect of moving away from the standard of the other books of the avengers. The art is the real star for me personally, however I don’t want to take away from Matt’s writing. The complete experience of the creative team has given us a great first issue to a story I hope will carry on for a long time. Judging from the previews I think it will.

Comments
  1. wwayne says:

    It looks like there’s a big Daredevil influence in Hawkeye (which thrills me a lot, since I’m a big fan of the man without fear). I instantly thought to Matt when I recognized Aja’s art: he drew some issues of Daredevil, and his style perfectly ties with the noir atmosphere of the series. Then I recognized some wonderful tributes: Hawkeye uses a card as weapon, exactly like Bullseye used to do, and he throws a wet dog on a counter, which really reminds of the panel in which Daredevil throws a wet Nuke on a table, in the last chapter of Daredevil: Reborn. Hawkeye has the kind of magic that makes you say “This is an instant classic”, exactly like I thought when I started to read Lemire’s Animal Man.

    • jaybwebb says:

      It’s really is a pretty awesome start, and I’m certain I’m gonna stick with it, it’s got the same sort of feel as samnee’s DD issues, and they really stand out for me! Thanks for checking out my review!

Leave a Reply

